Estonia reopens borders to passengers from Europe on 1 June – updated 20.07

The Estonian government approved the decision to reopen the borders of Estonia from 1 June to passengers arriving from European countries.

Estonia will admit people with no symptoms arriving from the European Union, the Schengen area or the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

“Allowing travel to Estonia from the European Union, the Schengen area and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a major step towards restoring regular free movement; however, we must keep a close eye on the health of our people,” Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said, adding that the compulsory quarantine and monitoring the infection rates in countries of origin were important preconditions for changing travel restrictions.

The compulsory quarantine for people arriving in Estonia depends on whether the relative coronavirus infection rate in their country of origin is above 16. This means that no more than 16 people per 100 000 inhabitants are infected in the passenger’s country of origin in the past 14 days. Anyone arriving in Estonia from a country with a higher infection rate must self-isolate for two weeks on arrival.

As of 17 July, the relative infection rate in Italy over the previous 14 days is 4.6 people per 100 000 inhabitants. People travelling from Italy to Estonia between 20-26 July will not need to self-isolate for two weeks upon arriving. As of 17 July the relative infection rate in San Marino is 47.2, therefore travellers from San Marino to Estonia are required to self-isolate for two weeks. 

Information on countries and quarantine requirements is updated every Friday here: 

Foreign Ministry press release 28.05.2020: